The History of Mu Eta 



Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., is the first national Black sorority. The Mu Eta Chapter here on The University of West Alabama campus was chartered on May 6, 1978.  The charter members are Beverly Hale, Wanda Autrey, Virginia Smith, Mary Lloyd, Gloria Treadway, Amy Witherspoon, Addie Tate, Brenda Smith, Josephine Welch, Shirley Ford, Lydia Bell, Lonnita Walton, and Lena Whitfield.  The Mu Eta Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha, is a chapter that is built on serving the community and uniting sisterhood around the nation.   Many members have achieved excellence simply by living up to our motto, "To be of Service to all Mankind." 

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., believes in cultivating and encouraging high scholastic and ethical standards. That's our primary goal. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is the only sorority that has operated in such programs as Cleveland Job Corps Center, one of our most important programs. In addition, we donate to such organizations as the NAACP and UNCF.

The most unique aspect of AKA Sorority is that we give and never expect to receive. We only hope that what we set out to achieve, we'll respectfully encourage those who believe.